Sunday, March 21, 2010


Autumn may be upon us but on Saturday at Avalon on Sydney’s Northern Beaches, the sun was shining, the water was warm and the summer vibe was still alive and well. It was a huge turn out for the VQS qualifier event, in fact one of the biggest to date. We only just managed to get all eager contestants into their respective divisions, with over 180 competitors signing up on the day.

What a day it proved to be with a large crowd turning out to watch the action and all the excitement the VQS is known to deliver. There were the usual VQS antics, painting faces with cream, baked beans endurance tests and loads more. There was also a 15-minute tow- in Expression Session with Volcom Team riders, Jay Quinn of New Zealand and local ripper David Vlug throwing down some huge aerials for the strong crowd on the beach.

David Vlug Tow in

Grom being artistically painted with mixture of cream, bake beans, sand and sticks

The waves were 3-foot, with crystal like conditions all day, providing the competitors with great waves to turn up the heat and put on an awesome display of surfing across all divisions.

The grom division in Sydney is always exciting, there are so many talented younger surfers in this area and again they were on show. The stand outs for the day were the finalists who made it ahead of a huge field of 56. Some great surfing went down with Liam Mortensen proving too strong in the final ahead of Bodi Smith, Harry Girdler and Jett Hobbs respectively.

Local Avalon grom Conner Gale, snapping in the semis

It was a tight tussle in the junior division with over 60 competitors signing up but again, it was the top 6 surfers who really proved themselves and secured a spot in the final championship event next month at Manly. Jake Sylvester and local favourite Beau Cram went wave for wave and with a split decision it was Jake Sylvester getting the nod from the judges, taking out the junior division ahead of Beau Cram. In 3rd place was Tom Lane and Shane Holmes finished in 4th place. Shane won every heat until the final but unfortunately could not find a wave in the final to secure victory.

Jake Sylvester driving off the bottom in the final

There was another strong turn-out for the girls division and some great surfing all day. The stand out surfer and taking out the ELECTRIC BOLT THROWER move of the day was Skye Burgess, showing us all how to use power and throw large spray snap in her semi final. Unfortunately Skye fell short in the final with Tess Josselin taking out the final ahead of Audrey Lane who finished in 2nd place, Skye Burgess in 3rd place and Fiona Casey in 4th place.

Skye Burgess, impresses the crowd with this huge hack and wins the Electric Volt thrower $50 cash

Julia Waugh on a crystal like wall

The Pro – Am division had some exciting surfing all day, with a large local field of competitors and some of Sydney’s best competing to take out the VQS event and gain entry into next month’s championship. The boys were throwing everything at the waves. Local North Narrabeen surfer Ben Short surfed to the one wave format in true style and proved too good in the final, busting his fins out on every turn. A “no holding back” approach secured Ben victory. Last year’s VQS championship winner Tylah Hutchinson finished a close 2nd place, Dee why local Issac Buckley finished in 3rd place and Shane Holmes in 4th place.

Ben Short in fine form all day

A huge thanks to our supporting friends of this event, the Avalon boardriders and the locals for letting the VQS invade the beach for the day. A great day was had by all and we look forward to seeing you down at the Volcom to Paradise VQS OZ & NZ Grand Championships at Manly Beach on the 16th and 17th of April.

Final results and Qualifiers for the VQS Championships 16 & 17 April:


1St Place Liam Mortensen

2nd Place Bodi Smith

3rd Place Harry Girdler

4th Place Jett Hobbs

= 5th Connor Gale

=5th Riley Cadman

=6th Dane Long

=6th Jacob Hooker


1St Place Jake Sylvester

2nd Place Beau Cram

3rd Place Tom Lane

4th Place Shane Holmes

= 5th Justin Arnold

=5th Kurtis Herman

=6th Isaac Austin

=6th Ryan Hunt


1St Place Tess De Josselin

2nd Place Audrey Lane

3rd Place Skye Burgess

4th Place Fiona Casey

= 5th Julia Waugh

=5th Jess Vandermear

=6th Sophie Hardcastle

=6th Ali Kelly

Pro – Am

1St Place Ben Short

2nd Place Tylah Hutchinson

3rd Place Isaac Buckley

4th Place Shane Holmes

= 5th Steve Ahrens

=5th Ben Hamilton

=6th Chris Enever

=6th David Vlug